My favorite tokua recipe

Posted on September 14, 2007

7


[This blog has a new domain: http://philippineaffairs.com/]

I just want to share this tokua (tofu) recipe that I dug up from the yellowing pages of my grandmother’s cook book. As far as I know, there are no other postings on the net about this recipe. Well, not unless the keywords that I typed on Google search were wrong, I haven’t found any similar tofu recipe. I already tried this recipe and it was gastronomically satisfying (at least as far as my wife’s and my own judgments are concerned). This recipe is a healthy substitute for meat recipes. However, you do not have to be a vegetarian to enjoy this recipe.

The picture that you see here is not the actual photograph of the cooked version of the recipe. This picture is just for visual purposes. Anyway, without further adieu, here is the recipe:

TOKUA FRICASSEE

Ingredients:

  • Tokua, 7 cakes
  • Tomatoes (big), 3
  • Bread crumbs, 3 cups
  • Vegetable fat, 2 tablespoonstokua.jpg
  • Water, 1 cup
  • Onion, 1
  • Garlic, as desired
  • Red pepper (sweet, chopped), 1
  • Green pepper (sweet, chopped), 1
  • Soy sauce, 2 tablespoons
  • Vetsin, 1 teaspoon
  • Salt, to taste

Procedure:

Dice the potatoes, and fry them. Sprinkle the tokua with salt, and fry it until it turns a golden brown. Cut the tukua into cubes of desired size. Sauté the garlic, onion, and tomatoes in the vegetable fat (butter may also be used). Then add soy sauce and tokua. Cover the mixture and let it boil a few minutes. Add 1 cup of water (or rice water), salt, peppers, and fried potatoes. Boil the mixture for a few minutes, and thicken it with bread crumbs. Serve it hot.

Posted in: Uncategorized